Hmmmm
Facebook greeted users today with a message stating that in one month’s time, profiles will be listed on search engines such as Google. The listing will only include your name and profile picture, in a move that obviously going to encourage any non-users to sign up if they find you in a result and want to contact you or find out more about you.
You can remove yourself by changing your privacy settings, hence the one month warning.
Even with growing concerns over the amount of information social networks can reveal about an individual, it’s unlikely to harm Facebook. Although it’s another step away from the friendly little college network origin, it’s going to drive further registrations, and continue the growth of Facebook as the most popular social networking site.
But it’ll be interesting to see whether a backlash begins. And whether more people begin to publicise and worry about companies like Rapleaf, Upscoop and Trustfuse, which are all owned by the same parent Rapleaf company. Find out why any social network user should know about these companies, at ZDnet, here.
It’s rapidly coming down to a choice between keeping everything you do offline to ensure your privacy, or accepting that everything you ever do will appear online, like Hasan Elahi’s Tracking Transience response.
